Helen’s history of running.

thumb_IMG_0379_1024

 

I was not at all sporty as a child, I was very short sighted and my PE teacher at secondary school insisted I took my glasses off for ball games in case they got broken which meant I couldn’t see the ball at all! I hated cross-country as it was always cold, wet and very muddy. However as an adult I’d always liked the idea of running but thought it was for skinny whippets and, as a curvy, slightly overweight woman, felt it was not for me.

I took up running in October 2012 after seeing a friend enjoying it and losing her baby weight very quickly. I’d been walking a lot but it took too much time so I decided the answer had to be to move a bit faster. Initially I felt very conspicuous as I felt I didn’t look “like a runner” but I soon realised that most people didn’t take any notice of me or if they did, often stopped to say something encouraging.

I did my first parkrun in Jan 2013 and came last, went again the following week and came “not quite last”. I entered my first race, with my running buddy (who by then was running marathons) in June 2013 -11.5k in under 2 hours… It was a very hilly trail race in Dorset- The Sydling Hill race, run alongside the infamous Giant’s Head marathon. Since then I have done about a dozen park runs, set a PB of 35.59 in 2014, though this current year’s best so far is 38.40.

Since that first race I’ve done 6 more 10ks with a PB of 83 mins, I was pleased with that although I was last again both on that time and on 3 other occasions. I’ve also done 4 half marathons, with a PB of 3.35 I have come last or very nearly last in all of them.

Having come last in my very first parkrun it was obvious I was never going to be a speed queen. On that first time I felt embarrassed that everyone was cheering me on and thought perhaps they were cheering more because my arrival meant they could finally go home! Now I know that is quite wrong and Parkrun celebrates everyone however slow they may be. Now I feel quite different about it, I know someone has to be last and am not bothered if it happens to be me. At larger events I have found people occasionally are a bit sniffy about us slow coaches but most of the events I enter now are small friendly ones where people are wonderfully encouraging. I also have linked up with people on Twitter via @ukrunchat and @ukmarathonchat who have been very helpful and supportive.

I don’t race very often due to time constraints, competing in a maximum of 4-6 events a year. I tend to do smaller friendly races and always check that the cut-off is reasonably achievable for me. Some of my favourite events are ones run by Whitestar Running, small scale trail events in Wiltshire/Dorset where there will usually be multiple events so although I may be the last HM runner some of the marathon runners will finish after me so I am not out on the course on my own. Usually there is a sweeper (tail runner) who will nurse us slow runners round the course. I have also done several events run by Saxon-Shore in Kent, these are small scale, timed ultra events, usually trail based, where entrants can do as many laps of the course as they wish from one lap- usually around 3-4 miles up to 30+ miles within the time allowed, usually 6-8 hours. I enjoy these because of the camaraderie, no one is bothered whether you are aiming for 1 lap or 10, they are just friendly and supportive. They are also excellent opportunities to find out just how far you can run. The last Saxon-Shore event I took part in showed me that I could run a marathon – it took me over 8 hours but I did it!

As far as running philosophy is concerned I feel that at 58 I am lucky to still be fit enough to run at all and intend to carry on for as long as possible. I love being out in the countryside, sloshing through muddy puddles, clambering over stiles and gates and finding new routes. I run on my own most of the time. I enjoy the peace and quiet, running as much as I can but taking walk breaks as often as I need to. Even in races I will walk for some of the time, specially if it is uphill! If I’m putting one foot in front of the other I am making progress towards the finish; whether I’m staggering along at walking pace or sprinting the last few metres I’m beating all the people who didn’t even start.

My plan for the next year or so is to work on my strength and conditioning so that I can run better even if not quicker. I have about 6 races already booked for the year and am working on improving the distance I can run rather than time it takes as I aim to complete at least one more marathon or ultra before my 60th birthday in Dec 2017.

For anyone out there who thinks they’d like to run, don’t think about how fast/slow you are compared with anyone else. Start as slowly as you need to and you will see improvement, whether in speed, fitness, or in general health. Run for fun or fitness, with a friend or on your own, being active and outside is good for both body and soul. Run when you can, walk when you need to and above all enjoy it.

Helen

 

6 thoughts on “Helen’s history of running.

    1. Thank you. I just wanted to show that running is for anyone, not just the speedy skinny girls with their swishy pony tails!
      I did my first marathon by accident in April… Explanatory blog will follow! There will be at least one more marathon and I’d like to do Race to the King or Race to the Stones.

      1. Not this year… I have a grandson due at any moment so need to be free to go and visit. I did the Larmer HM, the Light Ox and the Sydling Hill Race. The Invader is definitely on my wish list though.

  1. A lovely post. I know the feeling of being very un-sporty at school, running has come late for me too. Sometimes it is hard to stop comparing yourself to others who are so quick and make it look effortless. These days I try to be more relaxed – if I get a PB great, but its about enjoying it and seeing new places 🙂

Leave a Reply

